Tag Archives: Middle school

Book Review: Lily and Dunkin

Today we recommend: Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart
lily and dunkin

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. 

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7’s , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

You can find Lily and Dunkin can be found in the Juvenile Fiction section at J GEPHART.

Book Review: Ungifted

This week we recommend: Ungifted by Gordon Korman.

ungifted

Here is an offbeat, humorous tale about Donovan, a student who finds himself in the most unexpected place.  After accidentally destroying the school gym, he is scared stiff to face the punishment. However, due to a mix-up in the school administration office, his name is placed on the list for the local school for gifted students.

Read Ungifted to discover how Donovan “might” just surprise everyone with his special talents. You can find Ungifted in the Juvenile Fiction section at J KORMAN or as a book on CD in our Audiobook section at jCD FIC KORMAN.