Tag Archives: book awards

2018 Bluestem Award Winner

The votes have been tallied and the winner has been announced for the 2018 Illinois Reader’s Choice Bluestem Award:

  1. Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson (4256 votes)
  2. HiLo: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth by Judd Winnick (2797 votes)
  3. The Wild Robot by Peter Brown (2582 votes)

Did you vote? Did your favorite win?



2018 Rebecca Caudill Award Winner

The Rebecca Caudill Award Winner has been announced and the winner is – A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen. Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova came in first at the Bartlett Public Library.

The 2019 Rebecca Caudill List has already been announced and you can check it out at this link: http://www.rebeccacaudill.org/2019-list


Bluestem Book Club!

The Illinois School Library Media Association’s Bluestem award is designed for students in grades 3-5 who are ready for longer titles than found on the Monarch list, but not quite ready for the sophistication of some of the Rebecca Caudill titles.

The Bluestem list of nominees is available online: https://www.islma.org/pdf/Bluestem%202018%20Master%20List-1.pdf

You can also check out the Bluestem titles here at the library, and kids in grades 4 – 6 can join the Bluestem Book Club at the library and enjoy book-talks, games, and activities.

(Logo credit: Illinois School Library Media Association)

Time to Vote!

It’s time to vote for the Monarch, Bluestem, and Rebecca Caudill awards. These are awards where the books are chosen by student’s votes. The Monarch Award is Illinois’ Reader’s Choice Award for Kindergarten through Third Grade. The Bluestem Award is Illinois’ Reader’s Choice Award for Grades Third through Fifth. The Rebecca Caudill Award is Illinois’ Reader’s Choice Award for Grades Fourth through Eighth. You can pick up a ballot and vote for your favorites by stopping by the Youth Services desk or by checking the Bluestem and Rebecca Caudill shelves.

bluestemlogo monarch-logo

Readers’ Choice Award logos by Illinois School Library Media Association.

Newbery Award

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

This year’s Newberry Award winner is The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill.  “This compassionate, hopeful novel invites children everywhere to harness their power, and ask important questions about what keeps us apart and what brings us together” said Newbery Medal Committee Chair Thom Barthelmess.