Monthly Archives: April 2017

Book Review: Brave Like My Brother

brave like my brotherToday I recommend: Brave Like My Brother by Marc Tyler Nobleman.

When Charlie’s older brother Joe is called up in 1942, Charlie learns about the tedium and dangers of war through Joe’s letters–and his brother’s bravery in dealing with a spy as D-Day approaches, finally gives Charlie the strength to stand up to the local bully.

This is a really nice historical fiction book that focuses less on the war and more on the relationship between the two brothers. Most of the book is written in the form of letters from Joe to Charlie, and the format makes for an interesting but not too intense tale. Older readers may be more interested in The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley but this is an excellent story for younger readers. This book can be found in the Juvenile Fiction section at J NOBLEMAN.

~aw

Advertisements

Nightlights

Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez

Every night, tiny stars appear out of the darkness in Sandy’s bedroom. She catches them and creates wonderful creatures to play with until she falls asleep, and in the morning brings them back to life in the whimsical drawings that cover her room.  One day, Morfie, a mysterious pale girl, appears at school. And she knows all about Sandy’s talent and her drawings.

First- this graphic novel has amazing illustrations! If you don’t want to read it, just pick it up to look at the pictures! Second- it was a creepier story than I thought it would be. I can’t wait to read the next one!  Look for it in our Juvenile Graphic Novels under
J GRAPHIC ALVAREZ.

 

~am

Mighty Jack

Mighty Jack by Ben Hatke

Mighty JackJack might be the only kid in the world who’s dreading summer. But he’s got a good reason: summer is when his single mom takes a second job and leaves him at home to watch his autistic kid sister, Maddy. It’s a lot of responsibility, and it’s boring, too, because Maddy doesn’t talk. Ever. But then, one day at the flea market, Maddy does talk–to tell Jack to trade their mom’s car for a box of mysterious seeds. It’s the best mistake Jack has ever made. What starts as a normal little garden out back behind the house quickly grows up into a wild, magical jungle with tiny onion babies running amok, huge, pink pumpkins that bite, and, on one moonlit night that changes everything…a dragon.

This graphic novel is a cool new twist on Jack and the Beanstalk. Lots of adventure and a little bit of magic makes me want to read the next book in the series! This book is recommended for grades 5-7. Look for it in our Juvenile Graphic Novels under J GRAPHIC HATKE. 

 

~am

Earth Day!

Happy Earth Day! April 22nd is Earth Day, a day for raising awareness about the environment. The first Earth Day was in 1970, and History.com reports that the increased public support for protecting the environment led to the passing of ” the Clean Air Act, the Water Quality Improvement Act, the Endangered Species Act, the Toxic Substances Control Act and the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act. Another key development was the establishment in December 1970 of the Environmental Protection Agency, which was tasked with protecting human health and safeguarding the natural environment—air, water and land.”

You can learn more about the history of Earth at History.com, and you can celebrate by coming into the library and borrowing seeds from our Seed Library to grow at home!

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul

The fourth movie based on the popular Diary of a Wimpy Kid book series is scheduled to be released in theaters on May 19th, 2017! Are you excited? Will you read the book before the movie? Or watch the other movies again?

Summary: A Heffley family road trip to attend Meemaw’s 90th birthday party goes hilariously off course thanks to Greg’s newest scheme to get to a video gaming convention.

Book Review: Lily and Dunkin

Today we recommend: Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart
lily and dunkin

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. 

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7’s , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

You can find Lily and Dunkin can be found in the Juvenile Fiction section at J GEPHART.

Book Review: Dear Hank Williams

jacketThis week I finished reading Dear Hank Williams by Kimberly Willis Holt.

When the teacher assigns a pen pal project to the class, 11-year-old Tate chooses the soon to be famous (in then, 1948) country western musician Hank Williams.  She writes him letters throughout the school year, sharing everything about her life in Louisiana.  She writes about her little brother and her dog, her talented mother- who is in jail, and her own dreams of becoming a famous singer.

Imagine a time before the internet and social media. A time when you had maybe one chance to hear your favorite singer on the radio, and if you missed it, you had to wait another day or another week to hear them again.  There is a lot to learn about what life was like in a post-WWII southern town. Writing and mailing letters and looking out for your favorite radio program made me think of how different things are today!  If you like historical fiction or classic country western music, try Dear Hank Williams.  If you can, I also recommend reading it with some Hank Williams music playing in the background.  Maybe you’ll become as big a fan as Tate!

You can find this book in the Juvenile Fiction section at J HOLT!